Why I’ll never get a Kindle 

So everyone and their mother seem to own a Kindle these days, and I have to admit I don’t get it. Without sounding like an old fart, I have no idea why anyone would want a ‘plasticky’ faux iPad instead of a real book.
There was a lot of controversies, when they first came out, that the Kindles would -shock horror- replace books in people’s everyday lives. Obviously, that hasn’t happened yet and if I’m honest, I have no fear that it ever will. No matter how cool, how easy to use, or how sleek you can make a Kindle, books are simply more beautiful. Finding a dusty old bookshop hidden away somewhere and picking out a well-bound novel is simply one of life’s little pleasures and it just can’t be replicated by sitting in the ‘convenience’ of your own living room and downloading a book.
They say that you can tell a lot about someone by what they read and, although we all have some embarrassing reading secrets-yes I do mean Twilight, I really think that a home is missing something if it doesn’t have books. An ornate and well-bound hardback always feel like it has its own soul and a Kindle just doesn’t. In the end, if you have a Kindle and you love it then good for you, but I don’t buy into them and I don’t think they’ll ever replace real books.

 

Leave a Reply

