Review- Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

I was born in the summer of 1994, and for me and many millions of children all over the world, Harry Potter was our childhood. Like many of my peers, my younger brother and I begged our dad to read us the books. When the films came out we eagerly dressed up and stood in line for movie tickets, every stick became a wand and a ‘gold’ and red striped scarf became a must have accessory. We spent hours playing the video games, building the Lego sets, discussing our theories as to what was going to happen next and submitting and (if you were not sorted into your desired house) re-submitting the sorting hat questions on Pottermore until we could proudly state that we had always known we were Gryffindors.

sorting-hat

Sitting in the cinema in 2011 watching the end credits of The Deathly Hallows was actually quite emotional for me. I was not far from leaving school and with the end of the film franchise, I felt my childhood was over. The magic had ended and that it was time to ‘grow up’ in the real world, like an old friend or a comfort blanket had been taken away.

malfoy-sad

Thankfully fast forward to 2016 and Ms Rowling has a happy surprise for us all; the Cursed Child play and the release of Fantastic Beasts And Where To Find Them. At first, I was a little sceptical but my excitement got the better of me and I was sat in the cinema before you can say, Diagon Alley.

I won’t ruin it for you, but I will tell you that I would give the film 5/5. The film is so charming as you see a very different wizarding world through the eyes of the slightly bumbling but sweet ‘nomag’ Jacob Kowalski. The plot is well thought out as we meet characters previously mentioned in the Harry Potter books as well as learning more about the old books from the new film such as allusions to the fate of Dumbledore’s sister Ariana, meaning that while the film can stand alone, it also works well as part of the wider Potter franchise. Moreover, the ‘Fantastic Beasts’ themselves are truly fantastic. Rowling’s imagination never ceases to amaze and I really wish some of the creatures were real.

bug-fantastic-beasts

I would recommend that anyone who grew up with the Harry Potter books (or not) should go and see this film. It has all the charm and ‘real’ magic that the original films had and somehow is more grown up without having to become darker and more gritty (a movie trend I despise). If anyone questions your level of maturity or asks you why you would want to watch a Harry Potter film “After all this time?” you need only give one simple reply;

always-snape

Leave a Reply

