How to make Juice- Recipe

Juice is everywhere these days but there is definitely a right way and a wrong way of doing it.

Juice is inherently not as good for you as eating whole fruits and vegetables, it lacks any basic fibre which you need to stay fit and healthy. However, I like most people struggle to get all the nutrients I need from diet alone. I eat healthily but a western diet is not that great and even though I do get my 5-a-day I’m sure I’m not as healthy as I should be without juicing.

The thing that people get wrong is the amount of fruit they put in. The sugar in fruit, though naturally occurring, is still sugar and without the fibre is not good for your body. You should definitely stick to Joe Cross’s recommendation of an 80% veg, 20% fruit ratio. (While we’re on the subject Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead is a good watch if you want to understand juicing better but I do NOT support fasting).

The easiest way I found of getting in the veg is to use lemon and ginger to cover the ‘muddy’ taste you sometimes get with beets or spinach. My favourite is a variation on the ‘Mean Green’ juice by Joe Cross:

  • 1 cucumber
  • 3 sticks of celery
  • 1 apple
  • 1 orange
  • 2 handfuls of Kale
  • 4 handfuls of spinach
  • 1/2 lemon (peeled)
  • 5cm piece of ginger
  • 1 handful of Rocket (Arugula)
  • 1 broccoli stalk (I eat the florets and it’s a great way to prevent waste)

I add spinach, rocket and broccoli because I sometimes get anaemic like a lot of women and they’re all high in iron. I also added an orange because of the vitamin C which helps the body to absorb iron easily. I guess I should name it ‘Miss Green’, this is what it looks like:

juice_juicing_juicer

It’s a good idea to keep an eye on the veg and fruit you’re using. I started juicing as a student on a very small budget but I always try to get the high-water fruit and veg like cucumber and oranges etc organic. I don’t know if it makes much difference but I just don’t like the idea of all those chemicals floating around in my juice. It’s also important to drink your juice straight after making it because the vitamins will degrade the longer you leave it.

16359016_10211581156506258_273448660_n

Leave a Reply

