Barcelona- A Travellers Guide

I’ve been meaning to post this for a while but having seen one of the places I wanted to recommend featured in Vanity Fair on Friday morning I finally got round to writing it up!

I stayed in a really really sweet farmhouse just outside Barcelona this summer in the Playa Sant Andreu Se Lavaneres with my family (& doggo) and some visiting friends and I wanted to share the experience with you.

Spain_Barcelona_travel_Spanish_SpainTravel

Luckily the Playa Sant Andreu Se Lavaneres is pretty close to Barcelona so we got the train into the city every few days. Train tickets are really cheap and it’s not too far away. However, rush hour in Barcelona (like many cities) is hell so avoid public transport at all costs at these times- better to leave home towards noon and leave the city at around 3 or 4 pm.

My favourite place to go in Barcelona is La Rambla, it has tonnes of really cool shops, cafés and bakeries to find all sorts of goodies. My favourite shop is a little pastry shop just near Plaça Reial. (They also have a Brandy Melville which we don’t really have in the UK outside London)

Despite its fame, I definitely don’t recommend the Basílica de la Sagrada Família for more than a flying visit. It is beautiful and historic and wonderful BUT there are literally a million tourists there and as you probably know by now that I don’t like crowds! Somewhere that I would definitely recommend for beautiful Spanish architecture away from the crowds is Citadel Park or Parc de la CiutadellaIt’s incredibly beautiful and I love the lake and fountains.

The best place to go for breakfast or brunch in Barcelona is Brunch & Cake by the Sea (yes that’s its name)! It’s near the docks and it does the most lovely smoothie bowls I’ve ever seen!

Spain_Barcelona_travel_Spanish_SpainTravel

I hope this post helps everyone who is thinking about visiting this beautiful vibrant city! Happy travels!

spain

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Diane Frisch says:

    lovely! Heading over there for the third time very soon!

    Like

    1. It’s such a great place isn’t it? I hope this gave you a few new ideas of where to explore!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

